土耳其常常被形容為一個乘坐東行火車而要往西行的人。位於歐洲和亞洲之間,土耳其處於獨特的位置,突出了兩者的一些優點。美麗的地中海海岸線與山脈和農田結合。

在市郊和城市地區,你會見到融合了現代和奧斯曼建築風格的天際線,市集充滿擺賣陶瓷、布料、手工藝品、異國香料、濃郁的土耳其咖啡和充滿活力的西洋雙陸​​棋遊戲Tavla。

社區

你會住在土耳其的任何地方,但是你最有可能是在五個主要城市之一或附近:阿達納,伊茲密爾,埃斯基謝希爾,伊斯坦布爾或安卡拉。到了晚上,土耳其家庭常常聚在餐桌旁看電視,一起喝茶。親友們會常來喝咖啡和茶,熱烈地交談。

學校

你會入讀高中,這是一所為大學作預備的中學。典型的上課時間為7或8小時,並允許學生主修數學、科學或社會研究。大多數交流生入讀公立學校,但也有一些交流生被安排入讀私立高中。

語言

雖然土耳其語是主要的語言,但全國有很多人使用英語、法語、德語和意大利語。有基本的英語知識將對交流有幫助。 AFS將提供語言課程,當地的義工可能會幫助你在土耳其的頭幾個月安排獨立的語言學習。

A photo posted by Raquel Martinez (@rademark) on

食物

土耳其的菜餚結合了地中海和中東風格,相當豐富多樣。茄子是最普遍的蔬菜,常與肉串搭配。土耳其西部地區主要用橄欖油和草藥烹調食物,而在土耳其東部,食物可能非常辛辣和以肉為主。羊肉、牛肉和米飯是常見的食材;沿海海產豐富。如果你愛吃甜食,那麼你很幸運,因為土耳其以甜點聞名,特別是Baklava(一種甜糕點)和牛奶布丁。

AFS讓你踏上精彩的國際文化體驗

參加AFS海外文化交流計劃,自我探索,認識自己,建立全球人際網絡,擴闊國際視野。
一年海外交流計劃

計劃日期:2019年8至9月出發,2020年6月至7月回港
合資格出生日期:2000年9月7日-2003年9月7日

AFS海外文化交流計劃將會讓你踏上精彩的國際文化體驗。於出發前及文化交流期間會安排不同的活動、導向會及宿營,為你的旅程作出豐富的準備,讓你更能容易接納新的文化,增長技能和擴闊國際視野。AFS當地義工和義務接待家庭亦擔任重要角色,全力支援和指導,輔助你完成海外文化交流之旅。

計劃日期只供參考。
所有計劃、價錢、行程日期均有機會更改而不作另行通知。
活動名額先到先得。

立即報名!

Turkey is often described like a man running west on a train heading east. Situated between Europe and Asia, Turkey is in a unique position to highlight some of the best qualities of both. The beautiful Mediterranean coastline mixes with mountain ranges and farmlands.

In more suburban and urban areas you will be delighted by skylines shaped by a mixture of modern and Ottoman architecture and find colorful markets filled with ceramics, fabrics, handicrafts, exotic spices, rich Turkish coffee and an energetic game of tavla (backgammon board game).

People & Community

You could live anywhere in Turkey, but you’re most likely to be in or near one of the five main cities: Adana, Izmir, Eskisehir, Istanbul or Ankara. In the evenings, it’s very common for Turkish families to gather around the dinner table and watch TV and drink tea together. Expect a flow of friends and relatives visiting for coffee, tea and lively conversations.

School

You’ll probably attend an anatolian high school, which is a university preparatory secondary school. A typical school day lasts for 7 or 8 hours and allows students to specialize in either mathematics and science or social studies. Most exchange students attend public schools, but some also get placed in a private high school. 

Language

While Turkish is the primary language, English, French, German and Italian are spoken by many people around the country. Having a basic knowledge of English will be helpful. AFS will provide language lessons, and local volunteers may help arrange independent language study for you during your first months in Turkey.

A photo posted by Raquel Martinez (@rademark) on

Food

Turkish dishes combine Mediterranean and Middle Eastern styles and are quite rich and varied. Eggplant is the number one vegetable and is often paired with meat in a shish kebab. Food is cooked mostly with olive oil and herbs in the western part of the country, whereas meals can be very spicy and meat oriented in the eastern part of Turkey. Lamb, beef and rice are common ingredients and seafood is abundant on the coast. If you have a sweet tooth, you’re in luck because Turkey is famous for its desserts, especiallybaklava, a sweet pastry, and milk pudding. 

Let AFS guide your intercultural adventure

Year Exchange PROGRAM

Program Date: September 7, 2018 – June 24, 2019
Birth Date Range: September 7, 2000 – September 7, 2003

During your time living with a host family and studying in Turkey you’ll have an incredible opportunity to gain an intimate knowledge of this fascinating and diverse culture.  Turkish people have a well-deserved reputation for friendliness and hospitality, not to mention some of the finest cuisine in the world. Discover who you really are, make new friendships for life and be immersed in a fascinating intercultural experience in Turkey.

Program dates may vary and are meant to help with general scheduling only.
All programs, prices, and travel dates are subject to change without notice.
Applications are accepted on a rolling basis and programs are filled first-come, first-serve.

Apply Now!