泰國是通往東南亞的門戶,擁有令人讚嘆的自然美景,華麗的寺廟,美食和古老的王國遺跡,吸引了很多任何其他國家的遊客。 你將體驗到獨特的文化,美食,佛教寺廟和熱鬧的夜市。

學校是泰國青年的生活中心,他們的社交生活圍繞著學校。 電影和電視是最受歡迎的娛樂形式;足球,乒乓球,羽毛球和排球是最喜歡的運動。

 

社區

您可能到泰國任何地區的首都或小鎮,從北部的森林到中央農業平原或南部的熱帶海灘。 許多家庭幾代人住在一起,常常到全國不同地區探訪親戚。 家庭喜歡在家裡度過週末,在那裡你將體驗到泰國家庭如何受歷史悠久的傳統約束。 出門前,請務必得到你的接待父母同意。泰國人用 wai (鞠躬或屈膝時將合掌)互相迎接以表示尊重。 泰國人會過 jai yen 生活(一個冰的心),所以你通常不會看到他們表達激動的情緒。

學校

泰國有許多不同類型的學校,學校通常是社區的中心,你很有會入讀公立學校。學校和課程取決於你的年齡和興趣以及你所在的地區。學年從五月開始,二月結束,七時三十分至下午三時三十分上課,十月休假。 學生要穿校服。泰國學校提供文化相關科目,如泰語,舞蹈,劍戰,音樂,烹飪,藝術,歷史,和佛教。放學後及每星期一節的課堂可參加學術、體育和興趣學會。

語言

泰語是泰國的官方語言,你所在的社區和學校將會使用泰語。 除外語課外,所有教學都以泰語進行。 你不必在交流前學懂泰語,你的接待學校或當地義工將幫助你在交流中學習語言。

A photo posted by บัว (@soniadorigo_) on

A photo posted by Raquel Martinez (@rademark) on

食物

泰國菜由米飯,咖哩,魚和蔬菜組成,伴以辣椒和花生醬汁。常見的肉類包括豬肉和雞肉,全年有各種各樣的水果供應。 大多數泰國家庭會一起享用晚餐。家庭中每個人都有一碗米飯,而其他餸菜放在桌子的中心,並由大家分享。 常見的餸菜包括泰式炒麵,蕃薯沙拉和冬蔭功湯。

AFS讓你踏上精彩的國際文化體驗

參加AFS海外文化交流計劃,自我探索,認識自己,建立全球人際網絡,擴闊國際視野。
一年海外交流計劃

計劃日期:2019年8至9月出發,2020年6月至7月回港
合資格出生日期:(稍後公佈)

AFS海外文化交流計劃將會讓你踏上精彩的國際文化體驗。於出發前及文化交流期間會安排不同的活動、導向會及宿營,為你的旅程作出豐富的準備,讓你更能容易接納新的文化,增長技能和擴闊國際視野。AFS當地義工和義務接待家庭亦擔任重要角色,全力支援和指導,輔助你完成海外文化交流之旅。

計劃日期只供參考。
所有計劃、價錢、行程日期均有機會更改而不作另行通知。
活動名額先到先得。

立即報名!

Thailand, the gateway to Southeast Asia, draws more visitors than any other country in the region thanks to its breathtaking natural beauty, ornate temples, robust cuisine, and ruins of ancient kingdoms. You’ll experience an engaging unique culture, tasty cuisine, meditation, Buddhist temples and lively night markets.

Thai schools are the center of life for Thai youth, and their social lives revolve around school. Movies and television are the most popular forms of entertainment; soccer, table tennis, badminton, and volleyball are the favorite sports.

People & Community

You may be placed in a regional capital or small town in any region of Thailand, from the northern teak forests, to the central farming plains, or the southern tropical beaches. Many families include several generations living together, and visiting relatives in different parts of the country is common. Families also enjoy spending weekends together at home, where you will experience how Thai families are bound by tradition with a long history. You should always ask permission from your host parents before going out.Thai people greet each other with a wai (pressing their palms together as they bow or curtsy) to show respect. Thais try to live with a jai yen (a cool heart), so you won’t usually see them expressing extreme emotions. 

School

Thailand has many different types of schools, which are usually the center of the community and you will most likely be placed in a public school. The school you attend and the courses you take will depend on your age and interests as well as on the area you live in. School year starts in May and ends in February (7.30 am to 3.30 pm), with a mid-year break in October. Students wear uniforms. Thai schools offer culture-related subjects such as Thai language, dancing, sword fighting, music, cooking, arts, history, Buddhism and meditation. There are academic, sports and recreational clubs that meet both after school and for one period a week during school sessions. 

Language

Thai is the official language of Thailand and the language that will be spoken in your host community and school. All instruction, with the exception of foreign languages, is done in Thai. You don’t have to speak Thai before the program, and your host school, or local volunteers will help you learn the language once the program begins.

A photo posted by บัว (@soniadorigo_) on

A photo posted by Raquel Martinez (@rademark) on

Food

Thai cuisine consists of rice, curries, fish and vegetables, mixed with spicy pepper and peanut sauces. Typical meats include pork and chicken and a wide variety of fruit is available year-round. Most Thai families share the evening meal together. Families eat in the communal style: Each person has a bowl of rice while other dishes are placed in the center of the table and shared by everyone. Popular dishes include pad Thai (pan-fried noodles), yam (spiced salad), and tom yum kung (lemon-flavored soup with shrimp).

Let AFS guide your intercultural adventure

Year Exchange PROGRAM

Program Date: July 5, 2018 – May 16, 2019
Birth Date Range: September 7, 2000 – October 13, 2003

Spend a year exploring a country whose ancient traditions, friendly attitude, and tropical landscapes are world-famous. By living with a Thai host family, you’ll be able to make yourself at home as you attend a local high school and get involved in your community. You’ll have the opportunity to participate in cultural activities like touring Buddhist temples, visiting lively night markets. Other activities such as dancing, sword fighting, boxing, music, cooking, and arts & crafts might also be offered.

Program dates may vary and are meant to help with general scheduling only.
All programs, prices, and travel dates are subject to change without notice.
Applications are accepted on a rolling basis and programs are filled first-come, first-serve.

Apply Now!