在塞爾維亞,你會聽到街上熱鬧交談的嗡嗡聲,感受到山區,平原及河流的可愛和多樣化景觀。塞爾維亞人生活非常悠閒,對他們的生活總結用三個字形容就是 : 沒問題!他們就像不會為任何事情而煩憂一樣。但是,塞爾維亞人是很外向健談的,他們總是願意分享他們的文化。

年輕人在塞爾維亞通常是外向,他們喜歡去的咖啡館和公園。他們喜歡觀看體育節目有足球,網球和籃球。您可以隨時參加課後俱樂部或社區活動。

社區

AFS學生住遍布塞爾維亞,在潘諾尼亞平原小城鎮在北方,越山區南部地區和首都貝爾格萊德都有。塞爾維亞的家庭聚會是一起享受星期天的午餐,討論本週的事件,以及忙碌的工作一天後放鬆守在電視機前。

學校

你可能會入讀在塞爾維亞的一些典型的大學預科高中。學年由九月到六月(星期一至星期五),上課時間為上午8時至下午2時或下午2時至晚上8時。所有高中提供綜合科目,數學,塞爾維亞語,英語和另一外國語言(如德語或法語),生物,地理,歷史,物理和化學。有些學校會注重科學;有些則專注於社會研究。

語言

官方語言為塞爾維亞語,人們還會說西里爾語和拉丁語。懂英語的基本知識會有所幫助。AFS將提供學習語言材料,讓你在上課前三個月可以掌握到基本語言能力。同時AFS亦有強化語言課程。

食物

塞爾維亞食物是土耳其,希臘和匈牙利口味的混合體。肉類(雞肉,羊肉或豬肉),蔬菜,土豆和大米是他們每日菜單都會出現。麵包通常與其他菜餚一起食用,如捲心菜卷,釀白菜卷,烤羊肉串和漢堡傳統肉末菜。千萬錯過了所有的美味的糕點,及當地的奶酪和甜點。

Hear the buzz of lively conversations in the streets, and enjoy the lovely and diverse landscape with mountains, plains and rivers. Serbians are often laid back, best summarized in the phrase nema problema—no problem!  But don’t be surprised that Serbs are also outgoing and talkative, always ready to share their culture.

Young people in Serbia are usually very social, outgoing and enjoy spending time in local cafes, parks or playing or enthusiastically watching sports: soccer, tennis, and basketball. You can always join an after-school or community organized club like a Serbian folk dancing group.

People & Community

AFS students live all over Serbia, from small towns in the Pannonian Plain in the north, the more mountainous southern region and the capital city Belgrade. Serbian families enjoy gathering for Sunday lunch to discuss the events of the week, and relaxing in front of television after a busy work day.

School

You will probably attend a typical, university-preparatory high school in Serbia. School runs from September through June, (Monday through Friday) in two shifts: 8 am to 2 pm and 2 pm to 8 pm—and your school might alternate between these two options. All high schools offer general subjects, like math, Serbian language, English and another foreign language (like German or French), biology, geography, history, physics and chemistry. Some put more emphasis on sciences; others focus on social studies. Classes are lecture-oriented with some possibilities for individual or group projects.

Language

The official language is Serbian, the only European language that actively uses two alphabets—Cyrillic and Latin. Having a basic knowledge of English will be helpful. AFS will provide materials, links and language lessons in the first three months of your stay. Also expect have intensive language courses at AFS orientations.

Food

Serbian food is a mix of Turkish, Greek, and Hungarian ingredients and flavors. Meat (chicken, lamb or pork), vegetables, potatoes and rice make a daily menu in Serbia. Bread is commonly eaten with other dishes, like the popular sarma, stuffed cabbage rolls, ćevapi and pljeskavica—traditional minced meat dishes. Don’t miss out on all the delicious pastries, local cheeses and desserts.