印尼是一個龐大的群島,擁有超過17,000個島嶼。印度尼西亞的土地由火山、海洋、城市和農地組成,既現代高樓,亦有傳統的寺廟。當地的生物多樣性豐富,有瀕危的科莫多龍和無數的熱帶鳥類。 彩色紗布和蠟染布襯衫是當地的傳統藝術。 印尼300多個民族和文化,有幾十種語言,受歐洲,中東和亞洲的影響,構成了印尼的獨特的社會文化。

A photo posted by Coralie gisel (@cocoinindo) on

社區

當地親戚之間經常有聚會;在家庭中,長者受到高度的尊重。在作出任何重大決定之前,請諮詢你的接待家庭。參與成為他們社區的一份子也是很重要的,讓他們感覺到你是村內的一份子,尊重他們的信仰。印尼語中有十二種”說不”的方式,可見他們是一個比較含蓄間接民族。

學校

當地公立高中上學時間為 : 星期一到星期六(早上7時至下午1時30分)。 每個星期五,學校在上午11時就會結束,因為下午會有穆斯林祈禱集會。 學校是需要穿校服的。 放學後,你可以學習傳統的印尼音樂或舞蹈。

A photo posted by Raihan Mauladi (@raihan_7) on

A photo posted by Coralie gisel (@cocoinindo) on

語言

雖然在該國使用超過583種族語言和方言,不過官方語言都是印尼語。 有基本的英語知識是有幫助的。 AFS會提供語言課程,並會在出發前提供語言學習材料。

食物

印尼美食除了傳統的煮法和食材,也結合了來自印度(咖哩)、中東(烤肉串)和中國(炒)的飲食方式,同時亦受歐洲影響,故日常飲食中會包括西班牙和葡萄牙商人在前荷蘭殖民島嶼帶來的產品。 烹飪方式因地區而異,所以食物味道可以很辛辣或甜。 他們主要食糧是魚、椰子和辣椒配米飯。對印尼人來說一天中最要的是午餐或晚餐,由特定的家庭成員合作煮食,而用饍時亦有尊卑之分。

傳統巴里島女士奉上鮮花和芳香棒給予上帝

AFS讓你踏上精彩的國際文化體驗

參加AFS海外文化交流計劃,自我探索,認識自己,建立全球人際網絡,擴闊國際視野。
一年海外交流計劃

計劃日期:2019年8至9月出發,2020年6月至7月回港
合資格出生日期:(稍後公佈)

AFS海外文化交流計劃將會讓你踏上精彩的國際文化體驗。於出發前及文化交流期間會安排不同的活動、導向會及宿營,為你的旅程作出豐富的準備,讓你更能容易接納新的文化,增長技能和擴闊國際視野。AFS當地義工和義務接待家庭亦擔任重要角色,全力支援和指導,輔助你完成海外文化交流之旅。

計劃日期只供參考。
所有計劃、價錢、行程日期均有機會更改而不作另行通知。
活動名額先到先得。

立即報名!

A vast archipelago of more than 17,000 islands, Indonesia is a land of contrasts—fiery volcanoes and peaceful seas, crowded cities and distant plantations, modern high-rises and crumbling temples, Komodo dragons and countless tropical birds, young people on scooters wearing brightly-colored sarongs and batik shirts. More than 300 ethnic groups and cultures, with dozens of languages, different social and cultural backgrounds with European, Middle Eastern, and Asian influences make up the unique society of Indonesia.

A photo posted by Coralie gisel (@cocoinindo) on

Host Family & Community

Expect to attend regular gatherings with extended family. Elders are highly respected and make sure you consult your host parents before making any major decisions. Being a member of the greater community is also important and Indonesians tend to feel indebted to their village, their mosque or their professional organization. Communication styles in Indonesia tend to be indirect, in fact, there are twelve different ways of saying “no” in the Bahasa Indonesian language.

School

You will probably attend a public high school, which runs from Monday to Saturday (7 am to 1.30 pm). On Friday, the school ends at 11 am because of the noon Muslim prayer. You will wear a school uniform. After school you can learn traditional Indonesian music or dance.

A photo posted by Raihan Mauladi (@raihan_7) on

A photo posted by Coralie gisel (@cocoinindo) on

Language

Although there are more than 583 ethnic-languages and dialects used daily in the country, the official language is Bahasa Indonesia. Having a basic knowledge of English will help. AFS offers language lessons,and will send language study materials before the exchange.

Food

Indonesian cuisine combines indigenous techniques and ingredients with influences from India (curries), the Middle East (kebabs), China (stir-frying) and Europe, including products brought by Spanish and Portuguese traders before the Dutch colonized the islands. Cooking varies widely by region so food can be very spicy or sweet. Fish, coconut and chilies served with rice is a staple. The main meal in Indonesia is usually lunch or dinner and communal cooking with designated roles and hierarchies at the table are common.

Female hands offering food to God, traditional Balinese offerings to gods in Bali with flowers and aromatic sticks

Let AFS guide your intercultural adventure

Year Exchange PROGRAM

Program Date: July 3, 2018 – May 19, 2019
Birth Date Range: January 3, 2000 – January 3, 2002

Indonesia, the world’s largest archipelago, is home to more than 300 ethnic groups and 700 languages and dialects. By attending a local school and living with a host family, you’ll be in a unique position to experience this fascinating and complex society, and will soon come to know why their national motto is “unity in diversity”. In the Indonesian culture where friendliness and hospitality are of the utmost priority, you’ll have the chance to make lots of new friends, learn the language, and become part of the community.

Program dates may vary and are meant to help with general scheduling only.
All programs, prices, and travel dates are subject to change without notice.
Applications are accepted on a rolling basis and programs are filled first-come, first-serve.

Apply Now!