在「文明搖籃」中開始你的出國交流旅程,你可以在埃及看到古代世界奇觀吉薩金字塔,或欣賞世界上最長的河流尼羅河劃過美麗的沙漠。探索開羅歌劇院、亞歷山大的書目館,或者到當地的市集購物,並參觀舊的法蒂米德開羅。 埃及是將古代和現代紋理混合在一起的獨特國家。

埃及青少年喜歡在咖啡館,體育館,電影院或購物中心會面。 儘管同學在學校和大學常見面,但是年輕人男女自己外出並不常見。 他們喜歡集體活動。

A photo posted by Alexa Stitt (@lexi_marie360) on

社區

埃及的生活常常圍繞著家庭活動和宗教活動。 你可能住在埃及各地區,最有可能在亞歷山大市,開羅市,El Fayoum市,El Menya市,吉薩州,Ismailia市,Said Said市和Tanta市的城市和郊區。 如果你住在市區,通常都是高樓大厦,而在農村地區的話,通常會和大家庭在大屋裡住在一起。開玩笑是常見的社交方式。

學校

你可能會入讀於正規的埃及高中,但也有一些學生會入讀美國人國際學校。 學年從九月至五月,一月放假兩週。 學校每週日開始,星期四結束。 大多數學生穿校服。 一些課程可能會用英語授課,其他課程會用阿拉伯語授課,你可以根據學校選擇科目。

A photo posted by Tuur Defever (@tuurdefever) on

語言

埃及的官方語言是阿拉伯語,在全國各地都有許多地區性方言。 英語也是常用的,他們從一年級開始在學校學習英語。 掌握良好的英語有助於你調整和享受交流生活。 AFS會幫助你安排阿拉伯語課程,你的接待學校可能會有以阿拉伯語作為第二語言的課程。

食物

埃及的飲食通常含豆類、麵包、大米、蔬菜和水果。 午餐是一天中最重要的,人們常在下午休息。 售賣Falafel(炸豆球)和Koshary(米和扁豆的菜餚)的攤販四處可見。

Start your study abroad experience in the “cradle of civilization” where you can see the last remaining wonder of the ancient world—the Pyramids of Giza—and walk along the banks of the world’s longest river—the mighty Nile—which divides a harsh, yet beautiful desert. Explore the Cairo Opera House, the Bibliotheca in Alexandria or go shopping at local bazaars and visit old Fatimid Cairo. Egypt is a unique mixture of ancient and modern texture blended together into a unique mosaic.

Egyptian teenagers enjoy meeting in cafés, sports clubs, the cinema or shopping malls. Although mingling at schools and universities is acceptable, it is not very common for young women and men to go out on their own. Group activities are more the norm.

A photo posted by Alexa Stitt (@lexi_marie360) on

Host Family & Community

Life in Egypt usually revolves around extended family, religious events and activities. You can be hosted throughout Egypt, most likely in urban and suburban areas of Alexandria, Cairo, El Fayoum, El Menya, Giza, Ismailia, Port Said and Tanta. If you’re in an urban area, expect to live in an apartment, while people in more rural areas usually live with extended family in a big house. Jokes are a common way to socialize, so join the fun. 

School

You will probably attend a regular Egyptian high school, although some students attend an international U.S. schools. The school year runs from September until May, with a two-week break in January. School week starts on Sunday and ends on Thursday. Most students wear uniforms. Some classes may be taught in English, others in Arabic, and you may choose some subjects, depending on the school.

A photo posted by Tuur Defever (@tuurdefever) on

Language

The official language of Egypt is Arabic, with many regional dialects spoken all over the country. English is also commonly used and is taught in schools starting with first grade. Having a good knowledge of English will help you adjust and enjoy your program. AFS will also help you find a course in Arabic and your host school might have classes of Arabic as a second language.

Food

The Egyptian diet is typically rich in beans, bread, rice, vegetables and fruits. Lunch is the most significant meal of the day and is often followed by an afternoon rest. Falafel(fried bean balls), and koshary (a dish of rice and lentils) can be purchased from street vendors all over Egypt.